Press "Enter" to skip to content

QMSU election candidates 2018 – THE FULL LIST

Campaigning has officially started for the 2018 Students’ Union elections. Prospective part-time and full-time representatives attended a candidate briefing last night where they got their first opportunity to size up the competition.

During the meeting, the Union outlined rules, informed the candidates of relevant meetings, and answered questions from the people running – including ones about how loud you are allowed to be on Library Square. They also details how society endorsements are NOT permitted this year.

The full list of candidates (as of 15th February 2018) can be found below:

Full-time paid positions

President – Lewis Williams / Ahmed Mahbub / Nadia Hafedh / Silvano Guadagni / Rakin Choudhury

Vice President Barts & The London – Tom Longbottom

Vice President Education – Muhammad Faizan Liaqat / Deanna Lyn Cook / Woohaa Reddy N / Elmira Tanatarova / Redwan Shahid

Vice President Welfare – Ella Harvey / Samuel Martin / Zaeem Khan / Naiha Masih / Nejlaa Ali

Part-time voluntary positions

Student Trustees – Haseeb Sheikh / Megan Annetts / Yousof Fazelpoor / Zakaria Rob / Stefan-Tugay Sundere

Commercial Services Officer – Joe Vinson / Shaun Fishenden / Matthew Sibley / Akhil Viswanadh Nandipati / Zijian Chen

Student Media Officer – Lily Newman-Kelly

Student Council Chair – Sara Miah / Germaine Aboud Guirguis

Sustainability Officer – Simren Lakhan / Lizzie Hunter / Safiyah Raja / Josie Holden Wilby

Transgender Representative – No Candidate Listed

Mile End positions

Humanities and Social Science Faculty Representative  – Yueqing Gao / Jasmine Shahi / Beatriz Praca / Melissa Owens / Rhythmjit Singh

Science and Engineering Faculty Representative – Isha Malhotra / Sabrina Hoque / Eathan Plaschka / Nayara Fakir / Hannan Shahid / Soham Deshpande / Melek Ukuser / Antonio Brozicevic

Postgraduate Research Representative – No Candidate Listed

Postgraduate Taught Representative – No Candidate Listed

International Representative Education – Nikita Rochani / Kalina Tsaneva / Tracy Jawad

International Representative Welfare – Ryan Bhadlawala / Ansharah Jamal / Zoha Sohail / Sameyia Syed

Disabled and SLD Representative – Hasan Habib

LGBT+ Representative – Iain Taylor / Kate Smith

Black and Minority Ethnic Representative – Adina Shire / Mahamed Ali / Rawalia Hassan / Sawda Onanuga

Womens Representative – Laura Masiulionis / Noelle Ozimek / Sama Deen / Nell Watson / Tabitha Purslow / Shauna Bennett

Welfare Representative – Shamima Akter / Matt Kenyon & Linnea Bergman / Georgina Gambetta

RAG Officer – Adrianna Wisnia / Ashley Mbaso

Societies Officer – Adnan Hassan / Zahra Afzaal

Sports Officer – Nikol Dimitrova / Siobhán Campbell

Volunteering Officer – Hashim Mastan / Zoe Malik

Barts & The London Positions

Faculty Representative Pre-Clinical – Eva Phillips / Habiba Shabir

Faculty Representative Clinical – Nabilah Yunus Mayat

Faculty Representative Dental – Imaan Karmani / Michael Duque

Postgraduate Research Representative – No Candidate Listed

Postgraduate Taught Representative – No Candidate Listed

International Representative – Nadya Alfardan

Welfare Representative – Lily Copping / Sophie Hoque

Women’s Representative – Florence Wilkinson / Alice Scholfield

Disability and SLD Representative – Sally Hashim Yousif Bayoumi Mohammed / Pinelopi Stavrou

LGBT+ Representative – Adam Mitchell / Caitlin Gordon

Black & Minority Ethnic Representative – Tyrone Sangha / Giulia Olayemi / Raksha Jain / Nong Zhang

Vice President Barts – Matilda Boa / Jack Juckes

Vice President London – Harris Nageswaran

RAG Officer – Zoe Carter Tai / Abhiram Magesh

Societies Officer – Evan Chalatsis / Veda Kudva / Jay Stanley / Reya Srivastava / Xinting Liu

Sports Officer – Alice Jones / Bridget Cullinan / David Barnett

Volunteering Officer – Issmaeel Ansari / Jordan Tudor

Dental Society President – Ameen Hussein / Arefeh Ahmadifard

Allied Courses Representative – Mahad Bayleh / Jade Dhaliwal / Dorna Zarei

External Affairs Officer – Akash Dusoye / Ruari Mcgowan / Catherine Dominic

Alumni Officer – Pritesh Varsani / Jennifer Lok

Secretary – Jonas Schlautmann / Abhirami Vimaleswaran

Entertainments Officer – Laurence Gardner / Nadia Howard


For live election coverage of the hustings and results follow our election blog and The Print on Twitter.


This story was last updated on February 15th. Candidates running may have since changed.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.